Thursday, February 01, 2018

PLAI Statement : Letter-Complaint to the Ombudsman

PLAI already made known its official stand in the issued Statement of Concern. That revised statement was the result of a series of consultation to our stakeholders and does not prohibit any members from initiating their own actions.

At the outset, PLAI does not agree with the appointment of a non-librarian in any library whether public or private considering the provision of RA 9246 Section 31. But the issue on the appointment of a non-librarian in the National Library of the Philippines is a question of legality considering the different interpretations and stand of government agencies that can answer best this query.

PLAI then would like to know first the opinion of PRC being the implementor of laws related to professionals and CSC being the office that sets the qualifications in government offices, whether laws have been violated or not and follow the due process, hence the Statement of Concern was crafted and was submitted to PRC and CSC for their opinion on the issue so we will know the next course of action to take.

As to Mr. Totanes' complaint in the Ombudsman, PLAI respects his decision and opinion. It's his right to file a complaint before the Ombudsman.

Mr. Totanes' action complemented the PLAI action to CSC and PRC by adding the Office of the Ombudsman to investigate the matter as the appointment of a non-librarian in a government library is an act or omission constituting a violation of our law (RA 9246) and criminal laws particularly on anti-graft and corrupt practices act which the ombudsman has jurisdiction to investigate.

Please share po sa ating mga colleagues para po aware sila papaano tinitingnan ni PLAI ang isyu. Maraming salamat po.

Saturday, December 09, 2017

Journal of Philippine Librarianship [vol. 36 no. 1 (2016)]

The latest issue of the Journal of Philippine Librarianship is now available online at

Table of Contents

Eloisa E. Huet

Yhna Therese P. Santos

Journal of Philippine Librarianship (ISSN: 0022-359x)
University of the Philippines School of Library and Information Studies
3/F,Gonzales Hall,UP Main Library
UP Diliman,Quezon City 1101, Metro Manila

Thursday, December 07, 2017

Ms Elvira B. Lapuz -- Newest CPDC for Librarians

Ms. Elvira B. Lapuz is the newest member of the CPD (Continuing Professional Development) Council for Librarians takes her oath of office before a PRC official. She replaced Ms. Eimee Lagrama whose term ends this year. The CPD Council is composed of: Hon. Lourdes T. David as Chair, Dr. Avelina L. Lupas as the member representing the academe, and Ms. Elvira B. Lapuz representing PLAI, the Accredited and Integrated Professional Organization (AIPO) of librarians.

Monday, November 20, 2017

Parallel Session : UPLSAA Massive Open Online Courses for Libraries

UPLSAA will be hosting a parallel session at the PLAI Congress in Bacolod next week!

Mr. Janny Surmieda of Rizal Library at Ateneo de Manila University will be leading the discussion on why the extensive array of massive open online courses (MOOCs) on LIS is worth exploring for our own professional development and practice.

Find us on November 23, 2017, Day 3 of the Congress, at Room 3 at 9:50 a.m.

Sunday, November 19, 2017

Parallel Session : PASLI 21st Century School Library Programs

PASLI invites you to get a chance to learn how to be more relevant and attuned to our 21st century patrons by attending the #PLAICongress2017 Parallel Session on "21st CENTURY SCHOOL LIBRARY PROGRAMS" by Ms. Catherine D. Teoxon, Librarian of Miriam College Middle School on November 23, 2017 at SMX Convention Center Bacolod City, Negros Occidental. 

Friday, November 17, 2017

PLAI Congress Advisory : Walk-In Participants

Online Pre-registration of WALK-IN Participants (to Pay Onsite) is required and will start on 17 Nov 2017. Limited Slots Only. We discourage walk-in registration as we have limited laptops and wifi connection at the venue.

All PLAI Congress attending participants should register online at

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Advisory : PLAI Congress 2017

ALL PLAI Congress attending participants:

Should register online at

Kindly fill in all the required fields. You will be required to upload the required documents (scanned - PLAI Annual Dues Official Receipt or BDO deposit slip - 300 Annual Dues and 500 for new members (for members) and bank deposit slip (registration fee) as proof of payment. 

Upon completion of the registration, you will be prompted with the confirmation page with all your inputted data. Then, you will receive a confirmation via email that you are successfully registered. Kindly print and bring this to the conference venue to claim your conference kit and receipt.

Make sure that you provided a valid email address so that you will receive the confirmation email. 

If you did not receive an email, your registration is unsuccessful. Either you missed a required field, you missed to upload files, or your email address is incorrect. 

Please be guided accordingly.