Monday, April 05, 2010

New BFL Members

Today Ms Mila Medina Ramos of IRRI Library and Ms Arabella Magbutay Ananoria, Director of Libraries of University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos, Bacolod took their oath of office as the newest members of the Board for Librarians at the PRC Head Office Manila as replacement for retiring members Hon. Elnora L. Conti and Hon. Elizabeth R. Peralejo. PRC Chairman Nicolas F. Lapeña Jr. administered the oath of office of the new BFL members together with the other new appointees from the other professions.

As early as of March 26, 2010 during the ALL Forum held at the UPLB Main Library, forum participants have been treated to this advanced information by the BFL Chair herself, the Hon. Corazon M. Nera who proudly announced that PGMA already signed the appointment papers of Ms Ramos and oath taking will be held right after the Holy Week.

(L-R: Hon. Ruth R. Padilla [PRC Commissioner], Hon. Corazon M. Nera [BFL Chair], Hon. Arabelle M. Ananoria, Hon. Mila M. Ramos, and Nicolas F. Lapeña Jr. [PRC Chairman])

The selection of Ms Ramos (after Ms Leonor B. Gregorio - former UPLB Library Director) will be the second time a worthy colleague from our Council will sit as BFL member and expectedly will be instrumental in further advancing the cause of our noble profession given her extensive professional experience and varied international exposure.

(L-R: Hon. Elnora L. Conti, Hon. Arabella M. Ananoria, Hon. Corazon M. Nera, Hon. Ruth R. Padilla, Hon. Elizabeth R. Peralejo, Hon. Mila M. Ramos, and Ms. Lilia F. Echiverri (PLAI President)

Ms Ramos is the Librarian of the Library and Documentation Service of the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI Library) based in Los Baños, Laguna. She is also a recipient of the PLAI-STRLC Distinguished Librarian Award given last October 9, 2009 at the Eastern Manila Hotel & Training Center, Antipolo City.

Our warmest congratulations to our new BFL members.

No comments: